Blazingly Fast: Verizon Wireless Launches The World's Largest 4G LTE Wireless Network On Sunday, Dec. 5

BASKING RIDGE, NJ — From coast to coast, throughout 38 major metropolitan areas, Verizon Wireless is preparing for the Sunday, Dec. 5 debut of the fastest and most advanced 4G network in the United States. With the 4G LTE Mobile Broadband network from Verizon Wireless, laptop users will experience speeds up to 10 times faster than when they surf on the company's 3G network. In real-world, loaded network environments, data rates are expected to be 5 to 12 megabits per second (Mbps) on the downlink and 2 to 5 Mbps on the uplink.

Business customers and individual consumers interested in getting 4G LTE from Verizon Wireless will want:


  • 4G LTE Coverage Locator — go to www.verizonwireless.com/4Glte to check if an address is in the initial 4G LTE coverage area. Street-level coverage maps will be available on the site beginning Sunday, Dec. 5.

  • 4G LTE Mobile Broadband Data Plans — choose from two 4G LTE Mobile Broadband data plans: $50 monthly access for 5 GB monthly allowance or $80 monthly access for 10 GB monthly allowance, both with $10/GB overage.

  • 4G LTE Modems — the LG VL600 is backward-compatible with the 3G network and supports Windows® XP 32-bit, Vista™ 32/64-bit (SP2) and Windows 7 32/64-bit. Also backward-compatible with the 3G network is the Pantech UML290 4G USB, which is a 180 degree rotating USB connector and supports Windows XP 32-bit, Vista 32/64-bit (SP2) and Windows 7 32/64-bit. Each will be available online and in Verizon Wireless Communications Stores on Dec. 5 for $99.99 after a $50 mail-in rebate with a new two-year customer agreement on a 4G LTE Mobile Broadband Plan.

  • How to Order — visit a Verizon Wireless Communications Store, order online at www.verizonwireless.com, call 1-800-256-4646 or go through the company's business sales channels. To find a local Verizon Wireless Communications Store, visit the Store Locator online at www.verizonwireless.com/storelocator.  

Sunday's launch of Verizon Wireless' 4G LTE Mobile Broadband network immediately reaches more than one-third of all Americans, right where they live or work. Major metropolitan areas covered by Verizon Wireless' 4G LTE Mobile Broadband network on Sunday, Dec. 5 include:

Akron, Ohio Athens, Georgia Atlanta, Georgia Baltimore, Maryland Boston, Massachusetts Charlotte, North Carolina Chicago, Illinois Cincinnati, Ohio Cleveland, Ohio Columbus, Ohio Dallas-Ft. Worth, Texas Denver, Colorado Ft. Lauderdale, Florida Houston, Texas Jacksonville, Florida Las Vegas, Nevada Los Angeles, California Miami, Florida Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota Nashville, Tennessee New Orleans, Louisiana New York, New York Oakland, California Oklahoma City, Oklahoma Orlando, Florida Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Phoenix, Arizona Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Rochester, New York San Antonio, Texas San Diego, California San Francisco, California San Jose, California Seattle/Tacoma, Washington St. Louis, Missouri Tampa, Florida Washington, D.C. West Lafayette, Indiana West Palm Beach, Florida

View Verizon Wireless' 4-minute video, "4G LTE: More Than Just Speed," by visiting the Multimedia Library at www.verizonwireless.com/multimedia or by visiting the VerizonWirelessTV YouTube channel at http://www.youtube.com/VerizonWirelessTV. Also, visit www.verizonwireless.com/lte for more information about Verizon Wireless' 4G LTE network.

(EDITOR'S NOTE: Media can schedule a visit at a Verizon Wireless Communications Store by contacting the local area PR Manager on the mobile number indicated below. Media can access high-resolution images and video related to Verizon Wireless' 4G LTE network in the Verizon Wireless Multimedia Library at www.verizonwireless.com/multimedia.)  

About Verizon Wireless Verizon Wireless operates the nation's most reliable and largest wireless voice and 3G data network, serving more than 93 million customers. Headquartered in Basking Ridge, N.J., with 79,000 employees nationwide, Verizon Wireless is a joint venture of Verizon Communications (NYSE, NASDAQ: VZ) and Vodafone (LSE, NASDAQ: VOD). For more information, visit www.verizonwireless.com. To preview and request broadcast-quality video footage and high-resolution stills of Verizon Wireless operations, log on to the Verizon Wireless Multimedia Library at www.verizonwireless.com/multimedia.  

LOCAL MEDIA CONTACTS: Northeast: Howard Waterman Verizon Wireless (Northeast) Howard.Waterman@VerizonWireless.com  917-359-5505 (mobile)

Mike Murphy Verizon Wireless (New England) Mike.Murphy@VerizonWireless.com  781-223-5975 (mobile)

John O'Malley Verizon Wireless (Upstate N.Y.) John.OMalley@VerizonWireless.com  585-261-5899 (mobile)

David Samberg Verizon Wireless (N.Y. Metro) David.Samberg@VerizonWireless.com  914-329-5429 (mobile)

Sheldon Jones Verizon Wireless (Philadelphia Tri-State) Sheldon.Jones@VerizonWireless.com  215-219-8890 (mobile)

Melanie Ortel Verizon Wireless (Washington, D.C.; Baltimore, Md.; Va.) Melanie.Ortel@VerizonWireless.com  410-794-6055 (mobile)

South: Sheryl Sellaway Verizon Wireless (South Area) Sheryl.Sellaway@VerizonWireless.com  404-695-5564 (mobile)

Chuck Hamby Verizon Wireless (Fla.) Chuck.Hamby@VerizonWireless.com  813-404-6029 (mobile)

Gretchen LeJeune Verizon Wireless (Houston, Texas; Gulf Coast) Gretchen.LeJeune@VerizonWireless.com  713-204-2100 (mobile)

Audrey Lundy Verizon Wireless (Central Texas) Audrey.Lundy@VerizonWireless.com  214-587-0303 (mobile)

Karen Schulz Verizon Wireless (N.C., S.C., Tenn.) Karen.Schulz@VerizonWireless.com  864-561-1527 (mobile)

Kate Jay Verizon Wireless (Ga., Ala.) Kate.Jay@VerizonWireless.com 678-245-9532 (mobile)

Midwest: Michelle Gilbert Verizon Wireless (Mich., Ind., Ky.) Michelle.Gilbert@VerizonWireless.com  248-914-3680 (mobile)

Brenda Hill Verizon Wireless (Kan., Mo.) Brenda.Hill@VerizonWireless.com  913-660-2624 (mobile)

Laura Merritt Verizon Wireless (Ohio, Pa., W.Va.) Laura.Merritt@VerizonWireless.com  614-561-2605 (mobile)

Carolyn Schamberger Verizon Wireless (Ill., Wis.) Carolyn.Schamberger@VerizonWireless.com  847-204-4282 (mobile)

Karen Smith Verizon Wireless (Minn., S.D., N.D., Iowa, Neb.) Karen.Smith@VerizonWireless.com  612-590-3511 (mobile)

West: John Johnson Verizon Wireless (West Area) John.H.Johnson@VerizonWireless.com  410-382-5032 (mobile)

Bob Kelley Verizon Wireless (Mont., Idaho, Wyo., Utah, Colo.) Robert.Kelley@VerizonWireless.com  303-241-3105 (mobile)

Heidi Flato Verizon Wireless (Northern Calif., Nev.) Heidi.Flato@VerizonWireless.com  952-324-8692 (mobile)

Ken Muche Verizon Wireless (Southern Calif.) Ken.Muche@VerizonWireless.com  714-315-7946 (mobile)

Jenny Weaver Verizon Wireless (Ariz.; El Paso, Texas; N.M.; Las Vegas, Nev.; Southern Utah) Jenny.Weaver@VerizonWireless.com  602-909-6149 (mobile)

Scott Charlston Verizon Wireless (Hawaii, Ore., Northern Idaho, Wash.) Scott.Charlston@VerizonWireless.com  206-940-0385 (mobile)

National Media Contacts: Jeffrey Nelson Jeffrey.Nelson@VerizonWireless.com  917-968-9175 (mobile)

Español Elva Lima Elva.Lima@VerizonWireless.com  818-429-1213 (mobile)

Brenda Boyd Raney Brenda.Raney@VerizonWireless.com  908-872-7152 (mobile)

Tom Pica Thomas.Pica@verizonwireless.com  914-772-0757 (mobile)

####