Verizon's Diane McCarthy Named to Common Ground Alliance Board of Directors

Diane McCarthy, senior vice president of Verizon network field operations, has been named to the Common Ground Alliance board of directors.

McCarthy, whose appointment is effective immediately, will represent the telecommunications stakeholder group on the alliance board. McCarthy's nomination has been endorsed by the North American Telecommunications Damage Prevention Council, the designated telecommunications stakeholder group for the alliance. Each director on the board represents one of 16 alliance stakeholder categories.

The Common Ground Alliance is a member-driven association dedicated to ensuring public safety, environmental protection and the integrity of services by promoting effective damage prevention practices and fostering a sense of shared responsibility for underground-facility protection, supporting research, conducting public awareness and education programs, identifying and disseminating best practices, and serving as a clearinghouse for damage data collection, analysis, and dissemination.

"Ms. McCarthy's leadership will be instrumental in the alliance's effort to help reduce damages and keep our communities safe and connected," said Bob Kipp, president of the organization.

In her role at Verizon, McCarthy leads a technical field operations team of approximately 15,000, spanning the U.S. and 25 countries located in Asia-Pacific, Canada and Latin America. Her team is responsible for all installation and repair of Verizon's wireline wholesale and enterprise voice and data services, as well as customer equipment services and environmental health and safety in those regions. Prior to her current role, McCarthy oversaw domestic special services operations and wholesale and retail ordering, provisioning and repair.

McCarthy has a B.A. degree in communications from Rutgers University and has completed coursework at Wharton, the Brookings Institute and the Center for Creative Leadership. She recently was named 2009 Corporate Woman of the Year by Garden State (N.J.) Woman magazine in recognition of her leadership and commitment to community service.