Session status messages
Session Status

Due to inactivity, your session will end in approximately 2 minutes. Extend your session by clicking OK below.

Due to inactivity, your session has expired. Please sign in again to continue.

Samsung Galaxy Tab A (8.0) - Edit / Remove a User Account

2026-10-11 19:55:04.389

Samsung Galaxy Tab A (8.0) - Edit / Remove a User Account

If your Galaxy Tab A (8.0) has multiple profiles set up to accommodate more than one user, follow these steps if you need to remove an account or update its settings.

Edit a Full Access User Account

  1. Open the
    Settings app
    .
  2. Navigate:
    Accounts and backup
    Users
    .
  3. From the 'You' section, tap the account name.
    To edit a different account than the one listed, you must switch to the account by doing the following:
    1. Select the appropriate user name from the Users and profiles section.
      The device logs out of the current user account and into the selected account.
    2. From a Home screen, swipe up or down from the center of the display to access the apps screen then navigate:
      Settings
      Accounts and backup
      Users
      .
    3. From the 'You' section, tap the account name.
  4. Edit the name.
  5. Tap
    OK
    .

Edit a Restricted Access User Account

Restricted access accounts can only be edited by the owner's account (the first account used to access the device).
  1. Open the
    Settings app
    .
  2. Navigate:
    Accounts and backup
    Users
    .
  3. Ensure you're signed in to the Administrator account.
    If necessary, swipe up or down from the center of a Home screen then navigate:
    Settings
    Accounts and backup
    Users
    then select the Administrator account.
  4. If necessary, navigate back to the Users screen then tap the
    Settings icon
    Settings icon to the right of the account name.
  5. From the 'Application/content' restrictions section, configure the restrictions as desired.
    Tap the switch to the right of each app to turn access on or off.

Remove a User Account

Only the Owner profile (the first account used to sign in and access the device) can remove an account.
  1. Open the
    Settings app
    .
  2. Navigate:
    Accounts and backup
    Users
    .
  3. From the 'Users and profiles' section, tap the
    Delete icon
    Delete icon to the right of the corresponding user.
    For restricted accounts, navigate:
    Settings icon Settings icon
    Delete icon
    .
  4. Tap
    Delete
    to confirm.
    This removes the user's space and data from the device. The action can't be undone.