Session status messages
Session Status

Due to inactivity, your session will end in approximately 2 minutes. Extend your session by clicking OK below.

Due to inactivity, your session has expired. Please sign in again to continue.

Samsung Galaxy Tab A (8.4 inch) - Edit / Remove a User Account

2026-10-14 13:53:54.445

Samsung Galaxy Tab A (8.4 inch) - Edit / Remove a User Account

If your Galaxy Tab A (8.4 inch) has multiple profiles set up to accommodate more than one user, follow these steps if you need to remove an account or update its settings.

Edit a Full Access User Account

  1. Open the
    Settings app
    .
  2. Navigate:
    Accounts and backup
    Users
    .
  3. Ensure you are signed in to the user account you want to edit.
    To edit a different account than the one listed, swipe down on the
    Status bar
    then tap the
    Manage Users icon
    Manage Users icon and tap the desired account.
  4. Tap the account name.
  5. Edit the name then tap
    OK
    .

Edit a Restricted Access User Account

Restricted access accounts can only be edited by the owner's account (the first account used to access the device).
  1. Open the
    Settings app
    .
  2. Navigate:
    Accounts and backup
    Users
    .
  3. Ensure you are signed in to the owner's account.
    If necessary, swipe down on the
    Status bar
    then tap the
    Manage Users icon
    Manage Users icon and tap the owner account.
  4. Tap the
    Settings icon
    Settings icon to the right of the account name.
  5. Tap the account name to edit the name then tap
    OK
    .
  6. From the 'Application / content restrictions' section, configure the restrictions as desired then tap the
    Back icon
    Back icon to return to the Users screen.
    Turn on to allow access to an app or turn off to restrict access.

Remove a User Account

Only the owner profile (the first account used to sign in and access the device) can remove an account.
  1. Open the
    Settings app
    .
  2. Navigate:
    Accounts and backup
    Users
    .
  3. Ensure you are signed in to the owner's account.
    If necessary, swipe down on the
    Status bar
    , tap the
    Manage Users icon
    Manage Users icon then tap the owner account.
  4. From the 'Users and profiles' section, tap the
    Trashcan icon
    Trashcan icon located to the right of the corresponding user.
    For restricted accounts, navigate:
    Settings icon Settings icon
    Trashcan icon
    .
  5. Tap
    Delete
    to confirm.
    This removes the user's space and data from the device. This action can't be undone.