If you forgot your router password and can’t access the router, or want to start over with fresh settings, you may perform a router reset to restore factory defaults.
- Router reset will wipe out all of your customized settings
- Router username and password will be reset to factory default values as shown on the router label
- Personalized Wi-Fi settings will be deleted, including the Wi-Fi name and password you created. Your Wi-Fi network won't be accessible until you reconfigure your router and update your Wi-Fi devices to use the same customized Wi-Fi settings
How to reset your router to restore factory default settings
To reset your router:
- Locate the Reset button on the back of your router
- With the router powered on, use the pointed end of a paperclip or similar object to press and hold the Reset button for 15 seconds
- Wait for the router to fully reset and power back on
The router’s default factory settings have been restored. Reconfigure your router and update your Wi-Fi devices to use the same customized Wi-FI settings. You can also log into your router to restore factory settings. For detailed instructions, refer to your router user guide.