NYSE: VZ Disclaimer

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is charged with maintaining the highest standards of corporate governance because it believes that an effective board will positively influence shareholder value and enhance Verizon's reputation. All of our Directors stand for election each year. Our Board as a whole reflects a range of viewpoints, backgrounds and expertise because we believe that diversity is a core attribute of a well-functioning Board. A summary of the Board's role and guiding principles can be found  in our Corporate Governance Guidelines.

Lowell McAdam

Lowell C. McAdam is chairman and chief executive officer of Verizon Communications, a leading provider of wireless, fiber-optic and global Internet networks and services. He was named CEO on Aug. 1, 2011, and chairman on Jan. 1, 2012.

Shellye L. Archambeau

Ms. Archambeau is Chief Executive Officer of MetricStream, Inc., a leading provider of governance, risk, compliance and quality management solutions to corporations across diverse industries.  Prior to joining MetricStream in 2002, Ms. Archambeau served as Chief Marketing Officer and Executive Vice President of Sales for Loudcloud, Inc., Chief Marketing Officer of NorthPoint Communications, and President of Blockbuster Inc.’s e-commerce division. Before she joined Blockbuster, she held domestic and international executive positions during a 15-year career at IBM.  Ms. Archambeau has served on the board of Nordstrom, Inc. since February 2015 and, in the past five years, she has served on the board of Arbitron, Inc.

Mark T. Bertolini

Mr. Bertolini is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Aetna Inc., a Fortune 100 diversified healthcare benefits company with $58.0 billion in 2014 revenue.  Prior to assuming the role of Aetna’s CEO in 2010 and Chairman in 2011, Mr. Bertolini served as President from 2007, responsible for all of Aetna’s businesses and operations across the company’s range of healthcare products and related services, and as Executive Vice President and head of Aetna’s regional businesses prior to that.  He joined Aetna in 2003 as head of Aetna’s Specialty Products after holding executive positions at Cigna, NYLCare Health Plans and SelectCare, Inc.

Richard L. Carrión

Mr. Carrión has served for over 19 years as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Popular, Inc., a diversified bank holding company, and Banco Popular de Puerto Rico, Popular Inc.’s principal bank subsidiary.  Mr. Carrión has served as a class A director of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York since 2008.  He also served as a director of NYNEX Corporation, one of Verizon’s predecessor companies, from 1995 to 1997.

Melanie L. Healey

Ms. Healey is Group President and Advisor to the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of The Procter & Gamble Company, one of the world’s leading providers of branded consumer packaged goods.  Prior to assuming her current role, Ms. Healey served as Group President of North America.  Since joining Procter & Gamble in 1990, Ms. Healey has held a number of positions of responsibility, including Group President, Global Feminine and Health Care, and President, Global Feminine Care & Adult Care.

M. Frances Keeth

Ms. Keeth was Executive Vice President of Royal Dutch Shell plc, a global energy company, from 2005 to 2006, and was President and Chief Executive Officer of Shell Chemicals LP from 2001 to 2006.  During her long tenure at Royal Dutch Shell, Ms. Keeth served in a number of other positions of responsibility, including Executive Vice President, Finance and Business Systems, and Executive Vice President, Customer Fulfillment and Product Business Units.  Prior to these positions, Ms. Keeth was controller and principal accounting officer of Mobil Corporation.  Ms. Keeth has served as a director of Arrow Electronics, Inc. since 2004 and, in the past five years, she has served as a director of Peabody Energy Corporation.

Donald T. Nicolaisen

Mr. Nicolaisen served as Chief Accountant of the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) from 2003 to 2005.  Prior to joining the SEC, he was a senior partner at the accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers. Mr. Nicolaisen began his career at the firm’s predecessor, Price Waterhouse, in 1967, and held a wide range of management and leadership positions, including serving on the firm’s U.S. and global boards and leading Price Waterhouse’s national office for accounting and SEC services.  Since 2006, Mr. Nicolaisen has served as a director of MGIC Investment Corporation, Morgan Stanley, and Zurich Insurance Group.

Clarence Otis, Jr.

Mr. Otis is the former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Darden Restaurants, Inc., the largest company-owned and operated full-service restaurant company in the world.  He served as CEO of Darden Restaurants from 2004 to 2014 and as Chairman from 2005 to 2014.  Since joining Darden in 1995 as Vice President and Treasurer, Mr. Otis served in a number of positions of responsibility, including Chief Financial Officer, Executive Vice President, and President of Smokey Bones Barbeque & Grill, a restaurant concept formerly owned and operated by Darden.  Since 2010, Mr. Otis has served as a class B director of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta.  He has also served as a director of VF Corporation since 2004.

Rodney E. Slater

Mr. Slater is a Partner at the law firm Squire Patton Boggs LLP, practicing in the areas of transportation, infrastructure and public policy, a position he has held since 2001.  Previously, Mr. Slater served as the U.S. Secretary of Transportation from 1997 to 2001 and as the Administrator of the Federal Highway Administration from 1993 to 1997.  Mr. Slater has served as a director of Kansas City Southern since 2001 and Transurban Group since 2009.  In the past five years, Mr. Slater has also served as a director of Delta Air Lines, Inc., ICx Technologies, Inc. and Atkins plc.

Kathryn A. Tesija

Ms. Tesija is Executive Vice President and Chief Merchandising and Supply Chain Officer of Target Corporation, the second largest discount retailer in the United States — a position she has held since 2008.  She is also a member of Target’s executive committee.  Since joining Target in 1986, Ms. Tesija has served in numerous positions of responsibility, including Director, Merchandise Planning and Senior Vice President, Hardlines Merchandising.

Gregory D. Wasson

Mr. Wasson is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Walgreens Boots Alliance, Inc., the first global pharmacy-led health and wellbeing enterprise.  From 2009 through 2014 he was Director, President and Chief Executive Officer of Walgreen Co.  A registered pharmacist, he joined Walgreen in 1980 and served in a number of positions of responsibility, including President of Walgreens Health Initiatives, Senior Vice President, Executive Vice President, and President and Chief Operating Officer.  Mr. Wasson also served as a director of AmerisourceBergen Corporation through January 2015.