FiOS1, Verizon's Local TV Channel, to Do Live Broadcasts of two George Mason University Basketball Games

FAIRFAX, Va. - Verizon's FiOS1 local TV channel will broadcast live two George Mason University CAA (Colonial Athletic Association) conference basketball games in January and February from the university's Patriot Center here.

FiOS TV customers can see two exciting matchups - on Jan. 5 when the Patriots take on Georgia State University at 5:07 p.m., and on Feb. 18 when the Patriots host Drexel University at 7:07 p.m.

"FiOS1 delivers content that demonstrates our commitment to local communities," said Michelle Webb, executive producer and general manager of FiOS1.  "We're proud to bring our subscribers in the area live coverage of NCAA men's Division I college basketball as the Patriots battle it out on the court in two CAA conference matchups."

B.J. Koubaroulis will call both games along with Craig Esherick, a former Georgetown University head coach and assistant basketball coach and scout for the U.S. Men's Olympic basketball team at the Seoul Olympics in 1988.

The George Mason Patriots are led by head coach Jim Larranaga, the Patriots' and CAA's all-time leader in wins, in his 12th season with the school.  Larranaga led the Patriots to the Final Four in March 2006.

FiOS1, Verizon's first local TV channel, offers a one-stop shop for local weather, traffic, news, sports and community features.  FiOS1 is available on Channel 1 in the Verizon FiOS TV channel lineup in northern Virginia and parts of Maryland, and is available at no extra cost to Verizon FiOS TV subscribers.

For more information on FiOS TV, visit www.verizon.com/fiostv.  Consumers can also call their local Verizon sales office or 888-438-3467.

Verizon's FiOS TV service offers a broad collection of all-digital programming, with more than 500 total channels and 14,000 video-on-demand titles, 70 percent of which are free.  The VOD library also includes more than 1,200 HD titles per month.  FiOS TV is currently available to 8.2 million homes in 14 states.