Verizon Statement on House Panel Approval of Cell Tax Fairness Act

Legislation to stop new targeted taxes from being imposed during the next five years on wireless consumers or services was approved Wednesday (Sept. 15) by the House Judiciary Subcommittee on Commercial and Administrative Law.  The Cell Tax Fairness Act of 2009 (H.R. 1521) was introduced by Reps. Zoe Lofgren, D-Calif., and Trent Franks, R-Ariz.  The House measure has 194 co-sponsors.  The following statement should be attributed to Peter Davidson, Verizon senior vice president of federal government relations:

"On behalf of more than 90 million customers, we thank Reps. Lofgren and Franks, and the nearly 200 House co-sponsors, for protecting mobile users with The Cell Tax Fairness Act.  By providing a 'timeout' on new discriminatory and unfair taxes this year, Congress can protect wireless customers from new burdens that make broadband connections less affordable and stifle high-tech innovation and growth.

"With the limited number of days remaining in this Congress, we encourage the leadership to continue this momentum and move this measure to the House floor very soon.  We appreciate Judiciary Chairman John Conyers Jr., Ranking Member Lamar Smith and Sub-committee Chairman Steve Cohen for scheduling a markup of this important legislation."