Due to inactivity, your session will end in approximately 2 minutes. Extend your session by clicking OK below.

Due to inactivity, your session has expired. Please sign in again to continue.

How to disconnect a mobile line or cancel your mobile phone account

Learn how to disconnect a Verizon mobile line or cancel your Verizon mobile account. Find out what to expect on your bill when you discontinue service or move your number to another carrier.

If you've had your Verizon mobile account for less than 30 days, visit our Return Policy to learn about account termination.

For information about canceling other Verizon services visit our 5G home internet, LTE home internet, Prepaid mobile service or Fios home internet pages.

 

    How to disconnect a single line or cancel your Verizon mobile phone account

    How to cancel a line or your Verizon service depends on whether you're moving to another carrier or not.

    If you're not moving your number(s) to another carrier

    To disconnect a phone or connected device line you can do any of these:

    • Visit the disconnect page in My Verizon to see lines you're eligible to disconnect online.
    • Sign into My Verizon. Choose Chat with us (in the My Verizon app use the "snowflake" icon.) Type "Cancel" into the Ask a question box. Follow the prompts to disconnect a line or choose to chat with a live agent.
    • Call Customer Service before disconnecting to see if you qualify for additional savings.

    To disconnect a line or cancel the entire account, the Account Owner or an Account Manager can call Customer Service. Have these available when you call:

    • Account Owner's name
    • Phone number
    • Account PIN or last 4 digits of the Account Owner's SSN.

    Important: If a device on a line you want to cancel has an outstanding Device Payment Agreement, you can pay off the balance:

    1. Visit your Device Overview in My Verizon.
    2. Select Manage to pay off the balance.

    If you don't pay off the balance before canceling the line, the balance appears on your next bill after the cancellation.

    If you're moving your number(s) to another carrier

    After the new carrier connects you to their network, your Verizon account closes automatically. You don't need to contact us.

    Visit Move your number to another carrier FAQs to learn how to get a Number Transfer PIN and (if necessary) remove Number Lock.

    Important:

    • Your Verizon account must stay open until the last line is moved and your final bill is issued.
    • If you change carriers and get a new number with that carrier, contact us to close your Verizon account. The account won’t close automatically.
    • Your final bill will include any applicable outstanding device balance, if it hasn't already been paid separately.

     

    Special circumstances for disconnecting or canceling your mobile service

    Learn more about disconnecting mobile service in these situations:

     

    How we manage changed or disconnected phone numbers

    Here's what happens to your Verizon numbers you don’t take with you to another carrier:

    Federal regulations require that we reassign changed or disconnected numbers after no less than 45 days. We recommend you take this time to:

    • Notify contacts that you're no longer using this number
    • Unlink this number from any business or online accounts that use it as a way to authenticate you

     

    What to know about your bill after canceling your mobile service

    Here's how billing works when you cancel your mobile service:

    • Cancellation isn't effective on the day you contact us to cancel. Rather:
      • Cancellation is effective on the last day of the billing period in which you cancel.
      • Because you pay for the full month of service, you might want to discontinue your service toward the end of the billing cycle.
    • To pay a bill after you cancel service, visit our Sign in for Disconnected Accounts page, available up to 6 months after canceling. If it's been more than 6 months, visit our Make a One-time Payment page.
    • If you have a device payment agreement, your remaining balance is charged on your next bill after disconnecting.
    • If you have a Buy One, Get One (BOGO) promotion, the bill credits for the "free" device are discontinued and you're charged the remaining balance of the device payment agreement for both devices.
    • If you have a promotional subscription or a perk subscription (e.g., Disney+, Apple Music, Walmart+ Membership, etc.):
      • The subscription cancels when your service is terminated.
      • In some cases, a suspended, prior subscription you had directly with the provider may activate. Visit the related FAQ pages to learn more (e.g., Disney FAQs, Apple Music FAQs, optional $10/month perks, etc.)
    • If you bought your mobile device from an authorized agent or third-party vendor, check whether that third-party charges a separate termination fee.
    • You're responsible for all applicable usage fees, prorated access charges, taxes, surcharges or other charges that accrued to your account through the termination date.
    • If you paid a security deposit, it may take between 30 - 60 days to process the return of your security deposit. The charges for any service used on the account before the service termination date may be applied against your security deposit.

    For more details about your final bill, visit our Bill Statement FAQs page.