Suspend my service
You might want to suspend your line of service if you're temporarily unable to use your device or if you're concerned about unauthorized use or charges. When you suspend a line, you won't be able to make or receive calls or text messages using the Verizon network. You can suspend your line of service for up to a total of 180 days in any rolling 12-month period (not based on calendar year).
If your device is lost or stolen and you want to temporarily suspend your line to prevent unauthorized usage and charges on your account, choose this option. You can suspend your service with this option for up to 90 days in any rolling 12-month period.
If you choose to suspend your line without billing, you won't be billed for up to 30 days. If you keep your line suspended beyond 30 days, you will be billed starting on day 31, even though your device and line will remain inoperable on our network.
If you take no action after a total of 90 days suspended under Lost/Stolen, or if your line has been suspended for a total of 180 days in any rolling 12-month period, your line will be automatically disconnected. However, we will notify you before disconnecting your line to give you the option to reconnect or disconnect the line.
If you are still in possession of your device, you can temporarily suspend your line for up to 180 days in any rolling 12-month period using the Other option. You can suspend and resuspend your line as often as you want as long as no single suspension lasts longer than 90 consecutive days and you don’t exceed the 180-day total limit. If your line has been suspended for 90 consecutive days under the Other option, or if your line has been suspended for a total of 180 days in any rolling 12-month period, your line will be automatically reconnected. We will notify you before we reconnect the line to give you the opportunity to reconnect or disconnect the line before the date indicated on the notice. You can choose to resuspend your line after reconnection if your line has not yet been suspended for 180 total days in the rolling 12-month period.
Your service and features will continue to bill at normal monthly rates. If you have a device payment agreement, it will also continue to bill in accordance with your device payment schedule. Additionally, your line contract term and your equipment upgrade eligibility date (if applicable) will not be impacted.
If you choose to suspend your service without being billed, your line contract term and your equipment upgrade eligibility date (if applicable) will be extended for the amount of time your line is suspended. However, if you have a device payment agreement, you will continue to be billed in accordance with your device payment schedule.
If you have a monthly recurring subscription, you will need to refer to the applicable terms and conditions or contact Verizon customer service to learn if charges will continue to be billed during the suspension period. If you cancel a subscription and redownload an application at a later time, the download fees are not reimbursable.
After your line is reconnected, your next bill may include partial-month service charges and prorated allowances based on the effective date of the change.
You will lose your mobile phone number if you don’t reconnect your service and your line gets disconnected. In addition, you might see changes on your next bill, including the following:
- New plan price: Some plans have pricing that is determined by the number of lines on the account. If your line is disconnected, it could cause the plan cost for your remaining lines to change
- Device payment agreement balance due: If your line is disconnected and it has an active device payment agreement, the remaining balance of that agreement may come due on your next bill
- Early termination fee: If your line or device is under contract and the contract is still active, an early termination fee (ETF) will be assessed on your next bill, unless you choose to utilize an ETF waiver, if applicable
- Offer recovery fee: If your device was purchased at a discounted price or you accepted an offer to reduce your overall device payment, then you may be charged a recovery fee accepted at the time of purchase
- Device protection changes: If you have multidevice protection on your account, it may be removed from your account if the number of eligible lines on your account falls below three
While logged into My Business Wireless, you can suspend a wireless number as follows:
- Navigate to Manage > Plans > Suspend Service
- Select the line(s) you want to suspend or click Select all for all the lines on an account
- When suspending multiple lines of service, you can copy and paste up to 100 lines into the search bar or execute a search by wireless number, user ID, username, account number, device ID, SIM ID or cost center
- Click Continue
- Choose whether or not you want to be billed while the line(s) is suspended by selecting Yes or No
- Choose the desired reason for suspending your service by selecting Other or Lost/Stolen or Damaged (if you want the same options for all lines, click Apply to all)
- Click Submit
Once you’ve successfully suspended your service, we'll send you a confirmation at the listed email address. You can also have this confirmation email sent to additional recipients by clicking +Add another email address.
Visit our Customer Learning Portal for even more training and resources related to Verizon Business products, systems and tools.